Yabatech, UK universities sign pact in several disciplines

Yaba College of Technology has signed pacts with the University of Derby and University of Northampton, based in Buxton, Derby and Northampton, London, United Kingdom respectively on Science-Technology, Arts and Social Sciences for strategic cooperation towards erecting a brighter future for the foremost institution in Nigeria and making it a world global brand.

College Rector, Dr. Abdul Ibraheem, signed the pact when he met with the management of the two universities.

This was during his formal visit to the two institutions in the United Kingdom. 

The heads of faculties and international engagements relations departments of the two universities were in attendance at the signing of the memorandum of understanding.

The focus of the partnership with the University of Northampton centered on Arts, Science and Technology.

It is to accomplish a cooperative relationship that covers exchange of teaching and research personnel, exchange of student programmes, development in research activities, exploration of collaboration at the course level like articulation arrangements, and activities of mutual interests.

The University of Derby’s signed pact revolved around finance, business and social sciences.


SAN raises alarm over new mode of bullying, extorting Nigerians

Breaking: Air Force helicopter crashes in Port Harcourt

Senate frowns at non-remittance of funds owed NDDC by IOCs

The two schools agreed to develop a framework for progression opportunities for graduates of the college to acquire further degrees and co-create to offer executive programmes and short courses that will close skills gaps in the nation’s finance and business industry.

The collaboration also covered the college apprenticeship programmes in collaboration with blue chip industries in both countries to enhance quality skills development and mobility of such skills. 

The Centre for Linkage, Partnership and International Relations of Yaba College of Technology will lead other relevant Centres in the college, including the Centre for Research Support and Grants Management, in the actualisation of the objectives of the signed pacts.

The University of Derby provides around 300 study programmes as well as short courses and foundation degrees, through the following faculties: Faculty of Business, Computing and Law; Faculty of Art, Design and Technology; Faculty of Education, Health and Science. 

Each faculty offers a variety of courses that are supervised by individual research groups.

University of Northampton, however, is a public university based in Northampton, Northamptonshire, England. 

It was formed in 1999 by the amalgamation of a number of training colleges, with the first one established in 1261 and gained full university status as the University of Northampton in 2005.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button