Edo CJ reviews panel probing Shaibu, replaces two members

The Chief Judge of Edo, Justice Daniel Okungbowa, has reviewed the panel constituted to investigate the allegations levelled against the state deputy governor, Philip Shaibu.

This is part of the processes initiated by the assembly to impeach the deputy governor.

This is contained in a statement signed by the Chief Registrar of the state High Court,  Benson Osawaru on Monday in Benin.

In the new list, two members, Prof Violet Aigbokhaebo and Prof Boniface Edegbai, were dropped.

The list was earlier released on Friday.

Other members are Prof. Theresa Akpoghome,  Oghogho Oviasu,. Dr Andrew Oliha,  Idris Abdulkareen,  President Aigbokhian and Mariam Ilavbare.

The new members are President Aigbokhian and Mariam Erakhoba Ilavbare.

According to the statement, retired Justice Steve Omonua is chairman of the panel.

This, the CJ, said was in line with Section 188(5) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

Follow The Eagle Online Channel on WhatsApp

Back to top button