Waldrum invites Ajibade, Oshoala, Nnadozie, 19 others for Olympics’ qualifier

Coach Randy Waldrum has invited captain Rasheedat Ajibade, U.S.-based Africa queen, Asisat Oshoala and high-riding goalkeeper, Chiamaka Nnadozie among a group of 22 players for the two-legged Paris Olympics final qualifying fixture against South Africa next month.

Saudi Arabia-based defender Ashley Plumptre and veteran rearguard, Osinachi Ohale, are also invited, as well as youthful midfielder, Deborah Abiodun, and forwards Esther Okoronkwo and Uchenna Kanu.

There are recalls for 2019 World Cup star, Chidinma Okeke and veteran forward, Chiwendu Ihezuo, and a first invitation for U-20 defender, Shukurat Oladipo.

The Super Falcons will host the first leg scheduled for Friday, April 5 at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, before flying to Pretoria for the return at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Tuesday, April 9.

The winner over two legs will earn one of Africa’s two tickets to this year’s women’s Olympic football tournament, with Zambia and Morocco to clash for the other ticket on the same dates.

Waldrum has also kept faith with regulars like wing-back Michelle Alozie, midfield lynchpins Christy Ucheibe and Halimatu Ayinde, and forward Gift Monday.

In the full list of invited players are goalkeepers, Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); and Linda Jiwuaku (Bayelsa Queens).

The defenders in the squad are Ohale (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); Plumptre (Ittihad Ladies, Saudi Arabia); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Portland Thorns FC, USA) and Chidinma Okeke (Mynavi Sendai Ladies, Japan), while the midfielders include Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden); Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jennifer Echegini (Juventus Ladies, Italy); Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); and Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain).

The forwards are Omorinsola Babajide (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Okoronkwo (Changchun FC, China); Ifeoma Onumonu (SLC Utah, USA); Oshoala (Bay FC, USA); Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Monday (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); and Chiwendu Ihezuo (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico).

Back to top button