Enyimba, Insurance await opponents as NFF holds Federation Cup draws

Defending champions, Bendel Insurance, record title holder, 3SC, and league champions, Enyimba are among the top clubs expected to know their opponents when the draw for the 2024 Federation Cup holds in Abuja, tomorrow.

The national draw for the men’s and women’s Federation Cup will be conducted at the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) secretariat, Abuja, with representatives of some of the clubs in attendance, the Federation said yesterday.

The field for the national competition in the men’s draw has been trimmed to 64 following last week’s play-off matches that saw the elimination of Classic FC of Adamawa, Simon Ben Academy of Kaduna, PRO Line of Kano, Crusaders FC of Bayelsa, KC FC of Kogi and Flight FC of Benue State.
From those games, Warinje FC of Bauchi, PCM FC of Ebonyi, Ine Stars of Edo, Zamfara United Feeders, Fr. Eburuaja of Imo and Gamji Eaglets of Taraba emerged to confirm their slots in tomorrow’s draw ceremony.

One of the teams conspicuous by their absence is multiple title winners, Heartland of Owerri, who were eliminated in the Imo State preliminaries of the competition.

In its place, Imo State is being represented by Ikukuoma FC and Fr. Eburuaja FC.
The men’s competition will begin with Round of 64 matches, before the Round of 32, and then Round of 16 dovetailing to the quarterfinals, semifinals and the grand finale.

The women’s competition, which has 31 entries, will begin with Round of 32 games, then the Round of 16, before the quarterfinals, semifinals and the grand finale.

In contention for the men’s title are Enyimba FC, Abia Warriors, Akwa United, FC One Rocket, Solution FC, Edel FC, Wikki Tourists and Warinje FC.
Others are Bayelsa United, Lobi Stars, El-Kanemi Warriors, Rovers FC, May Frank FC, Warri Wolves, Delta Marine FC, Cynosure FC, PCM FC, Bendel Insurance, Ine Stars, Ekiti United, Ekiti United Feeders, Enugu Rangersand Coal City FC.

Also in the race are EFCC FC, Sporting Supreme FC, Gombe United, Doma United, Lautai FC, Dutse Strikers, Green Beret FC, Kano Pillars, Katsina United FC, Jr. Danburan FC, Discovery Talent Academy, Kebbi United, FC Bako, Kwara United, ABS FC, Inter Lagos FC and Ikorodu City FC.
Nasarawa United, FC Basira, Niger Tornadoes,

Beyond Limit FC, Stormers Sports Club, Sunshine Stars, Adanimogo FC, Osun United, Hammola FC, Ilaji FC, Shooting Stars of Ibadan, Plateau United, Mighty Jets, Rivers United, and Ofirima FC are also in the race.

The women’s competition has Abia Angels, Ahudiya Nnem Queens, Bayelsa Queens, GoldenSun Sports Club, Honey Badgers, Delta Queens, Delta Ladies, Edo Queens, Fortress Ladies, Ekiti Queens, Bright Future FC, Greenfoot FC, Naija Ratels, ON Youth Academy, Heartland Queens, Kada FC, Gallant FC, Confluence Queens, Kwara Ladies FC,FC Robo Queens, Dannaz Ladies, Nasarawa Amazons, Remo Stars Ladies, Sunshine Queens, Onimang FC, Osun Babes, Suit De Queens, Plateau United Queens, Mighty Jets Mata, Rivers Angels and Oske Lean FC.

Back to top button