Minimah, Bassey listed as sports ministry, Yucateco celebrate boxers

Nigerian Boxing Federation (NBF) President, Gen. Kenneth Minimah (Rtd), the country’s first world boxing champion, the late Hogan ‘Kid’ Bassey and national team coach, Tony Konyegwachie, are among boxing personalities to be honoured today in Lagos by the Ministry of Sports, in collaboration with Yucateco Boxing Promotions.

According to the promoters, the event, which is in line with Sports Minister, John OwanEnoh’s agenda on athletes’ recognition and appreciation, is a brainchild of Yucateco Boxing Promotions, the organisers of the country’s first boxing league.

Yucateco Boxing Promotions CEO, Omonlei YakubuImadu, said the award is designed to celebrate as well as recognise Nigeria’s boxing heroes, who include boxers, referees, judges and others, who have contributed to the growth of the sport over the years.

“In line with the sports minister’s vision on athletes’ recognition, we have decided to take the lead in boxing by honouring those who have brought glory to our nation through sports.

“This edition of the award is focused on celebrating some of the legends of boxing in Nigeria and you will agree with me that our list of awardees in this regard truly merits such recognition at this time

“Our attention is also on the younger generation of boxers; subsequently, we hope to incorporate various categories of awards where they can be duly recognised as well.”

Among those listed for recognition at the awards the former national middleweight champion, Isaac Ikhuoria, Commonwealth Games gold medalist, Sabo Mohammed and current national boxing coach, Anthony Konyegwachie.

Others are 2011 African Games bronze medalist, LawalLukmonOlaiwola; Nigerian boxing umpire with the most appearances at international games, MuyiliOjo; women boxing pioneer, Edith AguOgoke; former national boxing coach, Joseph Mensah; Ogun State boxing pioneer, Ajani Aremu; boxing umpire, Abdullahi Masha; Coach Samson Aransiola and one of Nigeria’s most decorated boxing umpires, Adesanya Olusegun Ayodele.

Back to top button