National Federation Cup play-off begins in four centres

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has chosen Gombe, Jos, Katsina, Asaba and Enugu as centres for the 2024 Federation Cup national play-off, which begins on Thursday.

The states’ finals of the men and women’s competition were concluded a fortnight ago, with only Yobe State not participating in the event.
According to the NFF, over 70 entries were received from the states, with each state fielding two teams in their final, except Borno and Adamawa states, which registered one team each to keep the field at 70 instead of 74.  

According to the NFF, from the list of 70 and based on ranking, 12 teams were selected for the play-off, with the remaining 58 teams on standby. The six teams that emerge from the play-off matches will join the standby 58 for the national draw,which will have 64 teams.

“In the women’s competition, only 31 teams are in the field for the national competition, with only 20 states having registered.” The NFF said Benue, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Ogun, Osun and Oyo states registered only one team each in the women’s category, while Abia, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Enugu, Kaduna, Lagos, Ondo, Plateau, Rivers and the FCT registered two teams each.  


Back to top button