UNIBEN dethrones No Limit CC to win Edo Cricket League

Destiny Chilemanya was in fantastic form as the University of Benin Cricket Club defeated defending champions, No Limit CC, by 70 runs to win the Edo State Cricket League title on Monday.

The final game threw new stars of the game to the delight of cricket enthusiasts, who thumped up the integration of the state’s cricket development programme into the school system.

The UNIBEN team had in its rank former national U-19 stars, Reigneth Osagie, Miracle Akhigbe and Okeke Izuchukwu.

Also in the team are national team stars, Peter Aho and Eghosa Aghedo, who captained the team. The team also paraded Nigeria’s female bowling marvel, Peculiar Agboya, but Chilemanya was the pivot of the team’s crowning match as league champions.

The first inning had seen national team’s fast bowler, Chiemelie Udekwe, in No Limit’s colour, partnering with Godbless Abilo to rattle the UNIBEN batting lineup, posting three wickets a piece.

In 19.5 overs, the student’s team was all out with 114 runs on board.

But the defending champions had no idea what awaited them in the second inning.

It took 73 balls for the Eghosa-led UNIBEN team to rout the defending champions and limit the dream of a title defence. They were all out with only 44 runs in 12.1 overs.

Chilemanya, who contributed 16 runs to UNIBEN’s 114 total, was easily the player of the match. Osagie contributed 27 runs in 25 balls, while Aho had 22 from 32 balls.

Speaking at the end of the game, Vice Chairman of Edo State Cricket League, Abraham Oviawe, said that the league churning out new stars is the definition of success and the fact that a number of the players are currently in school excites the management team.

“While UNIBEN CC was exceptional on the field of play, what marks success for us remains the fact that the talents are local, they all embraced our continual educational policy, and they all proudly came out to represent their Institution.”

After the Super Four series that rounded off the league, Chimemele Udekwe of No Limit CC won the Most Valuable Player (MVP), while the batter of the series award went to David Abiebhode of Invictus CC.

Chilemanya expectedly won the Bowler of the series, while Osward Obasohan of UNIBEN CC was the fielder of the series.

Back to top button