Cross River Assembly impeaches Speaker

The Cross River State House of Assembly has impeached its speaker, Rt. Hon. Elvert Ekom Ayambem, over allegations of misappropriation of funds.

Ayambem, who represents Ikom 2 State Constituency in the Assembly, was impeached on Wednesday, May 29, by 17 of the 25 members of the House.

The impeachment motion was moved by Hon. Effiom Ekarika representing Calabar South 1 Constituency and seconded by Hon. Omang Charles Omang representing Bekwarra State Constituency.

Ayambem was elected speaker of the 10th Cross River State House of Assembly in June 2023.

According to the impeachment notice, the lawmakers alleged that the impeached speaker misappropriated N48 million meant for the payment of electricity bills of the assembly complex and quarters.

They alleged that Ayambem misappropriated 2 per cent of all revenue collected by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) monthly to the tune of N404 million.

“Misappropriation of the sum of N19,437, 844.00 (Nineteen Million, Four Hundred and Thirty-Seven Thousand, Eight Hundred and forty-five Naira) from Local Government deduction and 11 months deductions which he allegedly failed to disclose to members,” the impeachment notice reads.

“Incompetence and wrong conduct of plenary proceedings: Un-parliamentary way of conducting proceedings.

“Appointment of members to move or second motions rather than allowing interested members to raise their hands. Non-compliance with the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.

“Arbitrary approval of expenditure in flagrant breach of the provisions of Section 9(1) of the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.

“Approvals beyond the limit which the Speaker can approve contrary to Section 9(10) of the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.”

Among the lawmakers who signed the impeachment notice were Kingsley Ntui, Okon Owuna, Samuel Neji Abang, Cyril James Omini, Stanley Nsemo, and Charles Omang Omang.

Others included Thomas Aruku, Eyo Bassey, Bassey Bassey Effiong, Francis Onete Ogban, Victor Nsa, Ovat Agbor, Pius Ashas Ashakia, Martins Achadu, Effiong Ekarika, Egbe Abeng Egbe, and Hilary Bisong.


Back to top button