Nwabueze: Anyaoku, Iwuanyanwu head National Burial Committee

The family of the late Professor Ben O. Nwabueze (SAN) has announced former Commonwealth Secretary-General and Chairman of The Patriots, Chief Emeka Anyaoku, as well as President-General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide, Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, as Chairpersons of the National Burial Committee of the legal luminary and statesman. 

The appointments of the elder statesmen were made known by the head of the family, Dr. Eni Nwabueze, Tuesday.

In a statement, Dr. Nwabueze also named Senator Ben Ndi Obi as Vice-Chairperson, and Ambassador Okey Emuchay, the Secretary of Ohanaeze, and Olawale Okunniyi, Secretary of The Patriots, as co-Secretaries. 

Damien Obiefule will serve as the Assistant Secretary.

According to the statement, burial activities for the revered constitutional lawyer will take place from February 26 to March 9, 2024.

The funeral committee also includes former Finance Minister, Dr. Kalu Idika Kalu of The Patriots; Dr. Tunji Abayomi; Chief Emeka Ngige (SAN); Chijioke Okoli (SAN); Ikechukwu Amaechi; Arinze Oduah; Chief Ben Egonu; and Professor Ikenna Alumona.

Other members of the committee are Chief Chukka Ifejika; Professor Amucheazi; and Speaker of the Anambra State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Somto Udeze.


Primate Ayodele to Gov. Fubara: You will overcome Wike

Two sales attendants in court over alleged N1.1m theft

Insurgency: Minister of Defence, Service Chiefs visit Borno

Nkechi Chukwurah; Nnenna Okwuosa; and Jenkins Alumona, Vice President, Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN), will represent the family.

Professor Nwabueze, a former Minister of Education, passed away on October 29 at the age of 92. 

He studied in the United Kingdom and became a lecturer in 1962 at the University of Lagos. 

He later joined the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. 

Between 1970 and 1976, Professor Nwabueze taught at the Law Faculty of the University of Zambia. 

Professor Nwabueze was involved in drafting Nigeria’s 1979 constitution. 

He received the Nigerian National Merit Award in 1980.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button