Anambra rerun: YPP reclaims Orumba North/Orumba South Federal Constituency

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Chinwe Nnabuife of  the Young Progressives Party as the winner of the rerun election for Orumba North and Orumba South Federal Constituency in Anambra.

The declaration was made by INEC’s Returning Officer for Orumba North and Orumba South Federal Constituency, Prof. Gabriel Anene.

He said Nnabuife was pronounced winner having polled the highest number of votes.

News Agency of Nigeria reports that the declaration was made on Saturday night at about 10:15pm after the collation of the results from the 16 polling units of Nanka ward 1.

Anene said that Nnabuife scored 14416, while the closest candidate, Okwudili Ezenwankwo of PDP, scored 13087.

He said Kanayo Eze of APGA scored 10479 votes.

Reacting, Nnabuife, said that the victory was a call for more transformative legislative businesses in the constituency.

Nnabuife commended INEC for its transparency.

She assured the constituents of quality representation and urged other candidates to see Orumba North/South constituency above their personal interests.

Calistus Nwosu, the YPP agent, said the outcome of the rerun election was a testament of the will of the electorate.

Nwosu enjoined the representative to discharge her duties without bias while ensuring that that the constituency was effectively represented.

The rerun election was scheduled by INEC after a court of competent jurisdiction ordered a rerun to determine the actual winner of the election.

Ezenwankwo had challenged INEC’s declaration of  Nnabuife as the winner of the February 25, 2023 National Assembly election to represent the Orumba North and Orumba South Federal Constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button