Stephen Oronsaye Report on MDAs: Read full report, summary

The administration of President Goodluck Jonathan set up the Presidential Commission on Restructuring and Rationalisation of the Federal Government Parastatals, Commissions and Agencies in 2011 with Stephen Oronsaye as the head.

After the submission of its report, most of the recommendations by the Oronsaye-led committee were rejected.

The rejection had to do with political expediency as it would lead to the scrapping and merger of some of the Ministries, Departments and Agencies of the Federal Government.

Summary of the report

. 929 MDAs currently in the Federal Government budgeting structure

. The report identified 541 Parastatals, Commissions and FG Agencies

. Recommends 38 Federal Agencies to be abolished – Public Complaints Commission, National Poverty Eradication Programme, Utilities Charges Commission, National Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS, National Intelligence Committee, etc.

. 14 agencies to be fused into ministries where they were created from. For example: Debt Management Office to the Federal Ministry of Finance

. Public Health Department back to the Federal Ministry of Health

. National Information Technology Development Agency to be fused into the Ministry Communication Technology

. Reduction of statutory agencies from 263 to 161

. 52 institutions to be merged: NTA, FRCN, VON into the Federal Broadcasting Corporation of Nigeria

. NCC and NBC into Communication Regulatory Authority of Nigeria

. CCB , EFCC & ICPC to be merged into the Anti-Corruption Commission.

Back to top button